What Jennifer Knows – wonderful debut novel from Wendy Janes

I have recently finished Wendy Janes wonderful debut novel,’ What Jennifer Knows’ and this is what I thought of it:

‘What Jennifer Knows’ is a subtle and shocking tale of modern family life and relationships.
Sensitively drawn characters charm us but we, like them, are unsure who to trust. The shifting nature of loyalty and love is portrayed through searingly honest glimpses into the characters’ lives, both past and present.
The children in the novel are beautifully drawn and the way Tim’s siblings give him the acceptance and understanding he needs is both heart-breaking and wonderful.
As the complex plot deepens, we become so caught up in the characters’ lives that we have a real sense of urgency to know what will happen. How will Jennifer deal with what she knows? The final twist gives a fitting ending to this extra-ordinary book.

Here is another five star review for Wendy’s book, re-blogged from Judith Barrow’s blog.

Judith Barrow

What Jennifer KnowsI gave What Jennifer Knows by Wendy Janes 5* out of 5*

 The book blurb

“A vital member of her Surrey community, Jennifer Jacobs is dedicated to her job as a dance therapist, helping children with special needs to express themselves through movement. Wife of a successful though reclusive sculptor, Gerald, she is known for having a deep sense of empathy, making her a trusted confidante. So when two very different friends, Freya and Abi, both share information with her that at first seems to be an awkward coincidence, she doesn’t tell them. But as the weeks roll by, the link revealed between the two women begins to escalate into a full-blown moral dilemma – and also brings to the surface a painful memory Jennifer believed she had long since forgotten. What is the right thing to do? Should she speak out or is the truth better left unsaid?” 

I…

View original post 455 more words

Author: Jenny Worstall

I am a musician, teacher and writer, and live in London with my family. I enjoy playing the piano and gossiping with my friends (essential research for my writing). My books reflect my love of music and a tendency not to take life too seriously.

5 thoughts on “What Jennifer Knows – wonderful debut novel from Wendy Janes”

  1. Jenny, I’m so pleased you enjoyed What Jennifer Knows. Thanks for this great review. I hope that as a musician you liked the musical references in the story. 🙂

      1. Excellent! I have to admit that Freya’s enthusiasm for the event at the Albert Hall is all mine. It was a magical evening. I’m not planning on writing a sequel, but I feel Larksmill has plenty of tales to share, so maybe we will see them again… I’m ever so fond of Hugo.

Leave a Reply

