7 Writers get to strut their stuff (The Seven-Line Challenge)

Pat Garcia http://patgarciabookreviews.com/  has tagged me with the seven line challenge. Thank you very much Pat!

Here are seven lines from my musical romantic comedy, Make a Joyful Noise. Lucy, the staggeringly trusting young music teacher, is besotted with Tristan Proudfoot, the charismatic and vain conductor of the Springfield Choral Society. We meet them here as Tristan has finally managed to track Lucy down in the pub after a choir rehearsal.

“You’re looking gorgeous tonight,” Tristan murmured, gazing deep into her shiny eyes and catching a reflection of himself as she looked straight at him. “Utterly, utterly gorgeous.”

“Oh, thank you, I suppose,” said Lucy, utterly scarlet.

“I’ll come straight to the point, sweetie,” said Tristan. “Stupid to beat about the bush at my age.” He gave a harsh laugh as he took a long slow drag of his cigarette.

Why do musicians smoke, thought Lucy, annoyed. He needn’t think he can do that when we’re married.

It is now my turn to tag seven other writers to continue the challenge.

This is your mission:  Go to line 7 on either page 7 or page 77 of your manuscript and do a post with the next 7 lines, then tag 7 people to keep the challenge going! This a short and savvy way to see what others out there in the blogosphere are writing.

Julia Hughes

Morgen Bailey

Charlie Plunkett

Doreen Cox

Mark Barry

Stephen C Spencer

Rosie Amber

Author: Jenny Worstall

I am a musician, teacher and writer, and live in London with my family. I enjoy playing the piano and gossiping with my friends (essential research for my writing). My books reflect my love of music and a tendency not to take life too seriously.

10 thoughts on “7 Writers get to strut their stuff (The Seven-Line Challenge)”

  1. Hi Jenny,
    I love the seven lines that you picked out of your book. Having read the entire book, I would say those lines are appropriate. When I read them in the book, I was ready to hit Tristan in the mouth with my fist. I could have knocked him out. 🙂

    Once again, I say great job. Really enjoyed the book and I know that my first time was not the last time reading it.

    Ciao,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

