An Advent Calendar of Christmas Music. 4th December.

I think this is going to turn into John Rutter week as we listen to the enchanting Angels’ Carol in a version with orchestra.

Angels’ Carol with orchestra

The beauty of John Rutter’s music (apart from inspirational melodies, feel good harmonies, beautiful words…the list is endless), is that it is infinitely adaptable and sounds wonderful sung by any type of choir, with any of the different versions of accompaniments available. Here is the same carol sung by a very young choir with harp accompaniment.

Angels’ Carol with harp

Ahhh…what IS it about children’s voices, harp and Christmas? It is enough to melt the most Scrooge-like heart.

Author: Jenny Worstall

I am a musician, teacher and writer, and live in London with my family. I enjoy playing the piano and gossiping with my friends (essential research for my writing). My books reflect my love of music and a tendency not to take life too seriously.

2 thoughts on “An Advent Calendar of Christmas Music. 4th December.”

  1. I have a number of the Collegium Christmas discs (two of them ripped to my iphone) and listen to them every year. I love Rutter’s arrangements. I used to try to find the out-of-print 111 to give as early Christmas gifts to people I like, but it has become a bit pricy factory sealed and even pulls in a tidy sum used on ebay. The versions on other discs are not the same even though arkiv or other sites might claim that.

Leave a Reply

