An Advent Calendar of Christmas Music. 3rd December.

Children love to change the words of Christmas carols and songs and John Rutter’s wonderful Shepherd’s Pipe Carol is known the length and breadth of the country as the Shepherd’s Pie Carol.

Listen to this beautifully meaty and succulent performance (tasteful too):

Shepherd’s Pipe Carol

Please let me know of changes to the words of Christmas songs that you have heard.

PS I know the one about the shepherds and their socks.

My website

Author: Jenny Worstall

I am a musician, teacher and writer, and live in London with my family. I enjoy playing the piano and gossiping with my friends (essential research for my writing). My books reflect my love of music and a tendency not to take life too seriously.

2 thoughts on “An Advent Calendar of Christmas Music. 3rd December.”

  1. In the carol “The Angel Gabriel from Heaven came” (aka Gabriel’s Message), replace “Most highly favoured Lady” with “Most highly flavoured gravy”, and for bonus points, the following “Gloria” with “Bisto”. (perhaps a good accompaniment to Shepherd’s pie? If you don’t go for Garlic Dressing (aka Gaelic Blessing))

Leave a Reply

