Sight-reading – are we making it up as we go along?

jennyworstall:

I came across this interesting post about sight reading – always a tricky thing to teach!

Originally posted on music@monkton:

I am a keen chess player, but I wouldn’t rate myself as particularly good. My dad taught me to play chess when I was young – although I suspect that a more accurate way to describe it would be that he taught me how each piece moves, and to take care not to lose pieces too readily (although this still happens even now!) To be perfectly honest, I find the whole concept of teaching someone how
to play chess – that is, how to really play – a bit of a mystery. I think I’ve learned a few things over the years, mostly by trial, error and humiliating defeatchess pieces, and I’m still hopeful that the more I play the better I’ll get. But I have no doubt that what I really need is some quality teaching if I am to significantly raise my game.

When it comes to sight-reading music, I…

View original 510 more words

About jennyworstall

Musician, writer and teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sight-reading – are we making it up as we go along?

  1. Diana says:

    Jenny – I totally agree with what you say . it i such a vital skill for the musician and without a fair ability here our pupils are bound to be terribly handicapped .I am not really a person who has a great deal of advice to offer other than looking through the whole piece before starting and trying to assimilate certain KEY ELEMENTS . This can be made quite fun by giving the pupil a piece for a minute or so for OBSERVATION ONLY and then removing the book and asking a few salient questions to assess how much has been absorbed at a glance . much love Diana Played for George`s Grade 6 trumpet exam today

  2. Thank you for commenting! I will try the one minute observation of a new piece today with my pupils – sounds as if it is a really good idea.

  3. patgarcia says:

    Hi,
    I so agree with this article because it applies to most things in life including writing. There comes a time when the desire to write articles or books or whatever with creditability so that you are recognized, means learning the techniques and also reading more intensively books from others who have successfully arrived.
    Thanks for sharing it.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

  4. Thank you for your very thoughtful comments, Patricia.

Leave a Reply

